Because electric bikes, also called e-bikes, are sort of a mash-up of bicycles and motorized vehicles, but not exactly either one, many people are understandably confused about the laws that apply to these objects. This blog will help you know the New Jersey laws on electric bikes, like where you can ride one.
If you get injured in an accident involving an e-bike, a New Jersey bicycle attorney can help you seek financial compensation from the at-fault party.
What Falls in the Category of E-Bikes in New Jersey
New Jersey law recognizes three types of e-bikes:
- Class 1 low-speed electric bicycles. These bikes only assist the rider while the rider is pedaling, and they stop assisting when the bike gets up to a speed of 20 miles per hour.
- Class 2 low-speed electric bicycles, also called electric scooters. These bikes do not have pedals, and they do not assist the rider in traveling faster than 20 miles per hour.
- Class 3 motorized bikes, also called mopeds. The power source can be gas or electric. They do not have pedals, and they do not assist beyond speeds of 28 miles per hour.
The classifications are important because each category has different regulations.
New Jersey Laws by Category of E-Bike
Low-speed electric bicycles, also called Class 1 e-bikes, do not require a state license or registration, but some towns have registration. Helmets are required for riders younger than 17 years. You can take this type of e-bike on public transit, and you can park it on the sidewalk if it is not blocking access.
Low-speed electric scooters, also called Class 2 e-bikes, also do not require a state license or registration, but some towns have registration. Class 2 e-bikes are subject to the same rules as Class 1 e-bikes concerning wearing helmets, taking the bikes on transit, and parking on sidewalks.
Motorized bicycles or mopeds, also called Class 3 e-bikes, require a license and registration to operate. Helmets are required regardless of the age of the rider. You cannot park a moped on the sidewalk or take it on transit in New Jersey.
New Jersey Laws that Apply to All E-Bikes and E-Scooters
People who ride e-bikes and e-scooters in New Jersey must obey all traffic lights, signals, and signs. They must travel in the same direction as traffic. Unless regulations restrict all bicycle traffic, you may ride an e-bike on bike lanes, roads, streets, and highways in our state. When riding your e-bike on a roadway, you have all the rights and duties of someone driving a motor vehicle.
E-Bikes and Accidents
Like any person riding in a motorized vehicle or bicycle, riders of e-bikes have the right to seek to recover their losses if they get injured because of someone else’s negligence. If someone else was at fault in an accident that left you wounded or that took the life of your close relative, you might be able to pursue a claim against the liable party in a personal injury or wrongful death case.
You can reach out today for a free initial consultation with no obligation.